The Introduction

The other day I literally watched my garden grow before my eyes. When I went out at 8 am, I saw a few bean sprouts arched and ready to break free of the soil. By 3 pm – they had emerged and were unfurling their glossy leaves. And I thought to myself… I have really got to start my blog!

Beans Sprouting

There are actually many reasons why I’ve wanted to start this blog, though I don’t want to go into them at length just yet. But put simply, they are:

First: My husband Matt and I have spent a lot of time cultivating our yard to become our very own “food forest”

Second: After a few year hiatus from photography,  I’m starting to get into again, and my main focus has been documenting what goes on in the garden (as noted above- it changes every single day!)

Third: Those who know me know that I LOVE to cook. So I wanted to start photographing and sharing my culinary creations that I’ve made using our garden bounty (or whatever other local ingredients I happen upon)

Artichokes

There has been a lot of talk recently in Santa Barbara about growing “food not lawns”, which I think perfectly describes what we’re trying to do. I think everyone can agree that a homegrown tomato tastes infinitely better than those found in a supermarket. The same is true for anything else you grow at home.  I really like the idea of an “edible landscape” where you are cultivating a yard full of plants that not only smell and look great, but can also feed you! And in eating food that is grown closer to home, you’re reducing your environmental impact – whats not to love?  I want to touch on this more later because locally-grown food is something I feel really strongly about.

Lettuce and House

So… welcome to Garden Eats! Soon I’ll be posting what I’ve done over the last few weeks to catch up, so check back frequently! The garden never stops growing (and we never stop eating it).

Freshly-picked Strawberries

7 thoughts on “The Introduction

  1. jen says:

    i like the “food not lawns” idea. i’ve always wanted a small mint lawn: fragrant, hardy and useful!

  2. Jodi Sutton says:

    Charity, this blog is so inspiring and beautiful. Thanks for creating it. I wanted to do a veggie garden this year but we are in the process of moving and so we must wait until we get our new digs!
    Much love,
    Jodi

  3. Mike Shubert says:

    Charity – This is great! I can’t wait to see the next postings of what you’re growing for dinner!

  4. muddyfootsteps says:

    Hi Charity! I met you at the Reel Rock Festival on campus. I’m in the adventure program this year also. It’s good to see that you have a blog. Actually it’s awesome. I just found it and I’m definitely adding you on my blogroll. I checked out a couple of your posts and they seem really interesting. If you want check out my blog http://muddyfootsteps.wordpress.com/ I just transfered from blogger to wordpress so it’s still really new but the link to my old blog is on there as well if you want to check that out.

    Niki

Leave a Reply

