New Potato Salad

Colorful potatoes

In the last few years, I’ve made it a habit to search out farmers’ markets wherever we travel. I want to see where the local people go to eat and shop, because I get a better sense of where I am when I experience what daily life is to them. On our recent trip to Peru, I was amazed at the HUGE bags of potatoes we saw in every market. And not just the brown or red potatoes you see at the supermarkets in the U.S. But every color, shape and size that you could imagine!  We also learned that potatoes originated in the Peruvian Andes, and of the 5,000 known varieties of potato, 3,000 are found ONLY in the Andes. Peru’s great gift to the world! We ate potatoes a lot in Peru, and they were delicious every time – fried, sliced, sauteed, in soup, etc. I only wish I could have brought some home with me to plant in the garden!

Cusco marketplace

The potatoes featured in this recipe are from the Santa Barbara Farmer’s market – I picked up a few pounds last week and grilled a few last week (no pictures, but they were yummy). But we do have potato plants growing in the garden! Interestingly, potatoes and tomatoes are in the same family (and do not do very well when planted close to each other – sibling rivalry perhaps?). I really understood the connection today when I saw how similar the leaves are.  See for yourself:

Potato plant

Tomato leaves

This recipe is from a great cookbook I have called Simply in Season. It organizes recipes by season (spring, summer, fall, winter, all seasons), so most of the ingredients in a given recipe are also at their best in that particular season.  I use this book a lot when I need ideas for a meal because the recipes are uncomplicated, they come together fairly quickly, and they taste good!  Check it out here.

New potato salad

Garlic Potato Salad

6 cups new potatoes (cubed)

3 cloves garlic (minced)

1 cup green onions (minced)

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoons fresh rosemary (chopped; or 1 teaspoon dried)

salt and pepper to taste

Boil potatoes in water until tender, about 5 minutes. Drain and set aside.

Combine the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl. Add cooked potatoes and stir to coat. Chill about 3 hours before serving.

One thought on “New Potato Salad

Leave a Reply

