Sweet Potato and Chard Quesadillas

Last week, my friend Patty and I were brainstorming meal ideas for her camping trip. She found a recipe for butternut squash quesadillas with leeks that looked and sounded amazing! I was reminded of a scene several years ago, when I made a lunch of a wrap with sweet potatoes, avocado, feta cheese and black beans. A few friends from work would trade off making each other lunch once a week, and I think I had found that recipe in a fitness magazine. Anyhow, tonight I was inspired by Patty’s find (and my memory), and I managed to do my own version with sweet potatoes, chard, cilantro, and goat cheese.

The cilantro has been doing great in the garden – growing at a (mostly) manageable pace, and the same can be said for the chard. I hadn’t harvested chard for awhile, so not only did I pick the good leaves for me, I picked the scrappy leaves for the chicks (they seemed happy with it). Chard has become one of my favorite plants – I love the deep green color, and it so easily can be added to recipes. And the stalks are just as edible – particularly when sauteed like onions or celery.

A few other things: the chicken coop is pretty much done, and the chicks have gotten to play in it a few times. I think they like the space to fly and run around! They seem so small when they’re in their coop. But they have really grown soo much since we got them – I can hardly remember them without their feathers!

Even more exciting, I was able to ride my bike to work this morning… and it felt GOOD! My six-week X-ray is tomorrow, so hopefully my collarbone is healed up enough to get official doctor clearance 🙂 It just felt so amazing, and natural, to be on my bike again… no more (or at least less!) car commute!! To quote a co-worker, the ride in is just “dreamy.” And on a completely different note – my favorite flowers in the yard are blooming right now… the Calla lily.

Sweet Potato and Chard Quesadillas

2 sweet potatoes, cut into chunks

1 large bunch chard, leaves torn into small-ish pieces and stems chopped like celery

1 small onion, chopped small

goat cheese to your taste

1/4 tsp each cumin and chili powder

salt and pepper to taste

4 Whole wheat tortillas

A few sprigs of Cilantro, torn into pieces

Optional: lime wedges

Preheat oven to 400. Toss sweet potato chunks with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for ~30 minutes until soft. Remove from oven, and puree (either in a blender or with an immersion blender). Mix in cumin, chili powder, and salt/pepper to taste.

While sweet potatoes are roasting, saute onion and chard stalks in olive oil. After 3-4 minutes, add the leaves. Cover for a few minutes so leaves wilt, then uncover to allow any moisture to evaporate off.

Assembly: Spread sweet potato mixture on half of a tortilla. Crumble goat cheese over sweet potatoes. Spoon on the chard mixture and sprinkle with cilantro leaves. Fold tortilla half over and saute in a bit of olive oil until toasted/brown on each side. Cut into wedges and serve! If desired, squeeze lime juice over top.

Leave a Reply

