Cabbage Peanut Slaw

I don’t even want to go into the reasons why I haven’t posted in 15 months. None are very good, but there are some exciting things happening in the garden right now, and a very challenging week coming up in October. But that deserves its own post, and I’m determined to be more committed to my blog this summer.

There is great truth to the phrase that “necessity is the mother of invention.” Or in my case… what do I do with the vegetables that are piling up in my fridge? Specifically, the cabbage?

The last two months have been the magic season for cabbage (and all brassicas, I suppose). The aphids left (too hot?), and the cabbage thrived, gifting us with a few very perfect heads of cabbage. Now, I love cabbage. But, my creativity is limited (at times), and when it’s hot out, cabbage soup or braised cabbage isn’t very appealing. “Coleslaw, duh!” is probably what you are thinking. But I didn’t really have a good coleslaw recipe that I loved.

But tonight, I thought I’d give it a shot. I mean, what’s the worst that can happen? It tastes really bad, and the chickens will eat it. Or at least scratch at it, and be amused for awhile.  So I started chopping, and looked at 2-3 different recipes for inspiration. And magically… it all came together. The peanut butter at the last minute really is what did it. I also used about half savoy cabbage and half  normal green cabbage.

Cabbage peanut slaw

1/2 head cabbage, finely sliced

2-3 medium carrots, grated

1/4 c sunflower seeds

1 bulb kohlrabi, peeled and cut into matchsticks

8-10 sugar snap peas, chopped into 1/2″ pieces

Sauce (approximately):

3 Tbsp peanut butter

1 Tbsp red wine vinegar

1 Tbsp safflower or walnut oil (olive also works)

1 Tbsp lemon thyme (thyme, oregano, or lemon/lime zest would all work)

A few grinds of salt and pepper

Combine chopped vegetables in a bowl. Mix sauce ingredients in a small bowl with whisk, then     tost with the vegetables til coated. Taste, and add anything else you feel is lacking. I have a feeling this will only last about a day in the fridge, so best to eat it immediately.

2 thoughts on “Cabbage Peanut Slaw

  1. mostlynoodles says:

    I make something similar to this but have never thought to add kohlrabi (heck, I’ve never been brave enough to BUY it!). Looking forward to trying this.
    And welcome back!

    • Charity says:

      Thanks! I grew A LOT of kohlrabi this year, and have been enjoying it raw in salads, or in anything else… it has a firmer texture than broccoli stalk, and much sweeter.

Leave a Reply

