Eat Very Local Challenge: Day Six, Running on Plants

I really didn’t mean to miss a post yesterday, but the day just got away from me, and then last night I made cupcakes for a friend’s baby shower. That was probably the most challenging event of this whole week: not licking the lemon curd and frosting off my fingers! (Although you can bet your bottom dollar that we’ll be eating leftover lemon curd and frosting come Monday.) So here’s what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast

Amaranth porridge with blueberry-plum-honey compote, 1 orange, potatoes, 1 1/2 fried eggs

Lunch

Green salad with butternut squash, cherry tomatoes, avocado, beans, millet, green beans, shredded scallop squash, kale

Snacks

Grapefruit, orange, strawberry agua fresca

Dinner

Sauteed fish, potatoes, corn on the cob, cherry tomatoes, sapote, canned apricots

This morning I had to run 20 miles as training for the Red Rock 50, an extremely challenging 50 mile trail race coming up at the end of November. All week I’ve been a little nervous about today’s run. In principle there was nothing to worry about, as I’ve eaten things like potatoes and oranges in 50ks before. I think I was concerned about taking in enough calories in the days beforehand to not start out with an empty tank. In any case, I made sure to eat a fair amount of carbs yesterday (millet, squash, potatoes, corn), and made a (not so good) green smoothie with extra banana and amaranth to get me started this morning. I actually felt mostly great on my run – maybe no better but certainly no worse than any other long run. It was a tough one too – a loop of Romero, Blue Canyon, and part of the Red Rock course, for a total of 19 miles and 5,300 ft of elevation gain.

Here’s what I ate today:

Pre-run breakfast

Green smoothie (cooked amaranth, banana, kale, brussels sprouts greens, plums, blueberries, orange)

During my run

Potatoes, figs, banana, electrolyte drink (added tangerine juice ice cubes)

Post-run breakfast

Scrambled eggs and potatoes

Lunch

Millet with avocado, butternut squash, balsamic vinegar

Snacks

Gazpacho (tomato, cucumber, bell pepper, celery, lime, arugula, garlic)

Dinner

Leftover lunch mixed with beans, fava beans, corn, cherry tomatoes, roasted green chile, cabbage. Acorn pancakes with rhubarb-plum-honey compote and elderberry syrup.

Homebrew Electrolyte Drink (similar to Gatorade, and adapted from this website)

Electrolytes are extremely important in long runs to help replenish lost fluids/salts/etc. I don’t really love the taste of most electrolyte powders/tablets, so I’ve been happy to find an easily made replacement.

1 lime, juiced

1 orange, juiced

1 lemon, juiced

~1 tbsp honey

~1/2 tsp salt (start with less)

Combine in a 2 quart pitcher and add water to taste. You may want to add more juice, depending on how strong you like it.

Leave a Reply

