Vegetarian Cobb Salad

Vegetarian Cobb salad, perfect al fresco dinner during this heat wave! #wholefoods #plantbased #athletefuel #vegetarian

A post shared by Charity Dubberley (@c_dubbs_run) on

I know, I know. Its been too long. Our lives are completely different than the last time I posted 2 1/2 years ago! The garden is in terrible shape, especially in this late summer heat. Our family now includes a very active, very hungry and incredibly sweet and happy 2-year-old son named Hayden. We mostly eat plants and as whole foods as possible. I very rarely bake and we hardly eat sugar anymore. All of these things are huge and life-changing, but I just don’t have the time to spend on detailed posts. Spending time with Hayden and Matt, running, my work with Wilderness Youth Project, friends, and all the other activities that come with living in Santa Barbara get first dibs on my attention!

However, I’ve recently been inspired to start sharing photos of what I cook for my family via Instagram, and am hoping to find a way to share the recipes via this blog. So hang with me as I work on finding the easiest way to do that! In the meantime…

This vegetarian cobb salad recipe mostly comes from a free trial I’m doing of the emeals meal planning service. Overall the recipes seem simple but have that little bit of flair that makes it taste extra delicious. I leave the cheese out since I limit our dairy consumption at home.

For this salad, the extra flair was the crispy shallots- easy to make but turned a normal salad into something gourmet! I made our current favorite lemon dijon garlic salad dressing – there’s something about the combination of lemon and garlic that makes this salad really pop.

Salad:

Lettuce (I use my favorite baby lettuce mix from the farmer’s market)

Cucumber (I like English or Persian ones the best)

Tomato (The blush torpedo cherry tomatoes from The garden of…? Cannot.get.enough)

Hard-boiled eggs (A fried egg will do just as well too)

Avocado

Sunflower seeds

Combine in a big salad bowl in the proportions you like best.

Crispy Shallots:

2 shallots, sliced into thin rounds

1/4 cup flour

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

Separate shallots into rings. Place flour in a large shallow dish; dredge shallots in flour. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook shallots, in batches, in hot oil 30 seconds to 2 minutes or until golden and crispy. Place shallots on a paper towel-lined plate; season with salt and pepper. Scatter on top of your salad.

Dressing:

¼ cup olive oil

1 Tbsp white wine vinegar

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp dijon mustard

1 garlic clove, grated

Combine dressing ingredients in a small jar, shake just before serving. Dress and toss salad just before serving.

Leave a Reply

