Vegan Pizza

Vegan pizza, homemade. #wholefoods #plantbased

A post shared by Charity Dubberley (@c_dubbs_run) on

….it can be done. Its not pretty to photograph, but is regular pizza? Probably not. I’m pretty happy with the results. I had leftover roasted vegetables from dinner yesterday, so the toppings were easy. I also tried a recipe for a vegan “parmesan” that added a nice bit of texture.

Pizza is definitely the best vehicle for cheese I know (okay, asides from a baguette). But we very rarely eat cheese at home… I figure we have plenty of opportunities to consume dairy/cheese if we go out to eat or have dinner with friends. I do love good homemade pizza though, and I don’t want to mess around with the fake cheese stuff – its too processed, and I may as well just eat the real stuff if I want the sensation of cheese. I’ve had cheese-less pizza before that was great. Like many dishes that I’ve previously thought required cheese to make, it only requires a shift in perspective – it may not be traditional, but it still tastes good.

Vegan Pizza

1 package Trader Joe’s pizza dough (I like the herb version), split in two

Pizza sauce of your choosing (I used Trader Joe’s Puttanesca sauce)

Vegetables – I used about 1 cup thinly sliced mushrooms, 1 zucchini, 1/2 bell pepper, 1/2 cup sliced olives, 8 cherry tomatoes, and the flesh from 3 small roasted eggplants (you might want to let the water drain off the eggplant flesh for a few minutes to dry it up a bit)

1/2 cup basil, chopped

Vegan Parmesan (Minimalist Baker version)

Let the pizza dough rest at room temperature for about 30 minutes. Preheat oven to 475. Chop vegetables. Roll one half of the pizza dough ultra thin on a floured surface, and transfer to oiled baking sheet. Top with sauce, mushy eggplant, vegetables, and a good dose of the parmesan. Bake for about 12-15 minutes. Top with fresh basil (if you have it). Repeat for the second pizza.

Alternatively pizza can be grilled on a BBQ. Makes sure to light it with the best Bic lighter multi tool: The LighterBro.

Leave a Reply

